Ryan FR-1 Fireball of VF-66, 1945

7 responses

  1. Nordstrom C. Whited

    The gentleman in your photo, standing in front of the Ryan Fireball, is not John F. Gray, C.O. of VF66 in 1945. I was then a member of that squadron, flying the Fireball, and was in everyday contact with the Skipper, ’til I left the Squadron when peace was signed. To the best of my knowledge, the officer shown was not in the squadron while I was there. Hope this is helpful ,, Nordstrom C. Whited, Lt.(jg),304370, USNR (Ret.)

    July 13, 2011 at 1:02 am

  2. Nordstrom C. Whited

    Hi Overseas,

    I have a picture of John from that time, which, unfortunately, is a half-tone which shows up with a “moire” effect when it’s scanned. Still, it’s not too bad, and I can send it along, if you’re interested. Best regards, Nord

    July 17, 2011 at 5:58 pm

  3. Nordstrom C. Whited

    It’s me, Whited, again. I have discovered that my picture of John actually scans ok on my machine; so. if you’re still interested, I can send it without the glitch that I mentioned above. John was a helluva guy, and I would like for people to see what he really looked like. Best regards, Nord

    July 19, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    • i Nordstrom,
      That would be great my email is stuartwyatt at hotmail.com

      All the best
      stu

      July 20, 2011 at 9:57 am

  4. Nordstrom C. Whited

    +Hi Stu – Sorry to be so long. Novice that I am, I kept looking to hear from you on my email, and finally tumbled to the fact that it might be on this site. So, if I can figure it out, I’ll get to work and send the picture to your email address. Wish me luck!…. Nord

    August 26, 2011 at 1:52 am

  5. Nordstrom C. Whited

    Hi Stu – Found your blog on me and got a huge reaction from everybody, including the better half. Imagine I’ll be hearing from some of the Firebirds, if any of them are still around. Many thanks to you for your effprt in putting it together. I flew with a Reserve squadron down in Los Alamitos, California,in the fifties,and got to fly the F9F8 Grumman Cougar, a real jet and a fine airplane, but finally decided that flying high-performance aircraft once a month wasn,t such a good idea–I took off one time with the flaps up and almost trimmed off the eucalyptus trees at the end of the runway! all best to you, and Merry Christmas!….Nord

    December 22, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

