Air Group 12 Pilots after a Strike at Rabaul, USS Saratoga, 5th November 1943

3 responses

  1. Marni Magda

    My father Johnny Magda part of VF 12 on the USS Saratoga shot down three zeros Nov 5, 1943 over Rabaul. I recognize Joe Clifton and it may be my father with the dark hair. I am writing his story and would like to know if I can get a copy of this photo to use in his book. thank you. Marni Magda

    September 16, 2011 at 6:10 am

    • Jeff Hoback

      Marni,

      I’m indirectly related to you. My father was your father’s cousin and I know all about John and I am very interested to know more about him and your book which I’m sure to buy when it’s out. I have six older brothers and sisters and boy would we love to talk with you. I hope you find this reply soon and respond.

      Thanks!

      Jeff Hoback
      jhoback@tds.net

      January 18, 2012 at 6:03 am

  2. From down in the ready room I had a pic of Joe with a drink and a cigar, the skipper , an Australian guy in a white shirt and a young looking guy , presumably radar / communications from Lt . Jorgensen . I hope I didn’t lose it , haven’t seen it since I moved off Long Island .

    May 12, 2014 at 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

