LtCol Elmer A. Wrenn of Marine Aircraft Group 22, Ie Shima, 1945

7 responses

  1. Jorge

    Can anyone tell me what happened to LtCol Elmer A. Wrenn

    Thanks Jorge

    May 23, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    • Bobby Wrenn

      Col Wrenn was my father. He died in 1980 from brain cancer. He left behind 5 children. Our mother, Ruth Adkins Wrenn, died in 1987. Did you know him?

      July 9, 2011 at 11:39 am

      • Hi Bobby
        This image comes from http://naval.aviation.museum
        I’m sorry to hear of the death of your father, I set up this blog to gather together images of Naval and Marine Flyers, that are posted in many place all over the Web, trying to gather them into a resource for anyone to use. I hope you are happy for me to post this picture of your father, If there is any information of other images you would like to add to this post, I’d be happy to put it up.

        All the best
        Stuart

        July 9, 2011 at 12:02 pm

  2. Bobby Wrenn

    Stuart, I recently sent about 30 pictures to the USMC museum in Quantico. They vary from formal dress uniform shots to plane wrechage to one that I really like, which is the airfield at Cherry Point in NC in 1945. I’d be glad to send them to you, if you like. All of the originals are now with the museum, but I scanned them all and can Email them to you. Let me know what you think. I’ve looked at probably all of the pics you have for pilot, WWII, USMC, and Corsair. I’m a big fan of that era, those planes, and the men that flew them. It’s an awesome web site. Bobby

    July 14, 2011 at 1:25 am

    • Bobby Wrenn

      Hi Stuart, I Emailed a couple of pictures to you about a month ago. Did you receive them? Bobby

      August 17, 2011 at 3:26 am

  3. mark sander

    My father, Gerald Walden Sander, was a fighter pilot with VMF-314 on IE Shima in 1945. Dad separated from the Marine Corps in 1946 as a Captain with a DFC. Dad passed away 2000. I would be very interested in getting a copy of those pictures.

    July 22, 2011 at 8:39 am

    • Bobby Wrenn

      Mark, I can send you some pics via Email or burn them all to a CD and mail it to you. I’ll need an Email address or physical mailing address. If you don’t want to post that info, you can leave me a message on my private line-number is 888-644-9917. Bobby

      August 17, 2011 at 3:28 am

Leave a Reply

