Lieutenant Commander Richard Upson TBF Pilot of VT-5 ‘Torpcats’

7 responses

  1. Jeff Page

    My father was one of the two pilots that returned to the Yorktown after there were only three Avengers left fit to fly on Lt.Commander’s Upson’s last flight.

    June 16, 2012 at 1:13 am

    • dan ward

      I’m doing research on Upson. Does your father have any description of how Upson died? please send your reply to dmward45@cox.net

      July 27, 2012 at 9:26 pm

      • Wilson Ramsay

        He was my dad’s cousin. What I heard was that he went out on a rescue mission and never came back.

        February 27, 2013 at 1:16 am

      • RICHARD WERTMAN

        My Uncle (AMM2 Richard Wertman) was Upson’s rear gunner. The family has always wondered what really happened that day.

        August 5, 2014 at 5:09 pm

      • Tony Lett

        Dan – It has been some time since I posted at this site. I am wondering if you have found any additional information about LCdr Upson’e final flight.

        June 27, 2015 at 12:34 am

    • Tony Lett

      My father was a TBF pilot in VT-5 and flew under LDCR Upson. I have a copy of the history of the squadron written by Lt Clarke after their 1943-44 deployment. My father said that Upson was lost in New Guinea (I believe) and they didn’t know what had happened to his plane and crew. at a reunion of the remaining crewmen at the USS Yorkton in 1985, one of Dad’s mates told us that Upson had been shot down, captured and murdered by the Japs.

      tonylett@aol.com

      January 18, 2014 at 1:58 am

      • Richard Wertman

        The information I’ve gathered from my family and related documents is that Upson and his crew where lost April 30th, 1944 while on a raid against the Japanese base on Truk Island. There have been several theories about what happend that day. However there are few members of VT-5 still with us. I suppose we will never know for sure.

        September 30, 2014 at 12:12 am

Leave a Reply

